Inspiration Against a Lost Generation

 

This video serves two purposes. First, it is a creative way to communicate a profound and inspiring message for everyone, by juxtaposing opposing tones via a literary twist — a winding and unwinding technique common to folktales. Second, it is a reminder to me, and perhaps to many of you, that this is what my generation felt and talked about when we were in high school and graduating. I find the echo of my thoughts juxtaposed against this video nearly a quarter of a century later rather interesting.

There are so many parallels, some of which we recognize right away, some of which we forget until we are reminded.

For some reason, this video reminded me of my generation’s movement to curb pollution and yet the nearly simultaneous increase in vehicle turn-over and layers of packaging around otherwise small items. Today, our kids and students are still moving to curb pollution, though with a narrower scope — less, if any, emphasis on all the forms of pollution, including light, noise and odor pollution, and more emphasis on pollution that perpetuates and aggravates global warming. There is much happening in the World that they have little notion and control of, as was true for us. However, as we became more pollution, waste and recycling conscious and active, I wonder what their generation will accomplish.

What parallels do you see between the priorities and ideas of your students and those you had when you were their age?

2 thoughts on “Inspiration Against a Lost Generation

  1. Nice video. Your post and video remind me of the familiar quote attributed to Socrates writing about youth, “… they have bad manners, contempt for authority; they show disrespect for elders and love chatter in place of exercise. Children are now tyrants, not the servants of their households. They no longer rise when elders enter the room…”

    I think there are more parallels between my growing up and my students’ (and my own 3 teenagers’) than not. The internet and technology have changed the landscape, but the roots of dreams and hopes are the same.

    What has changed, however, is today’s kids are more conditioned to be “3-click” people, they are bored after having to make more than 3 clicks at any website, they want immediate feedback. But “Kony 2012″ was the latest big viral movement; it got my son all excited to “do something,” but it was also so fleeting — he asked me for $50 to buy some kit but I don’t think did anything with them!

    Thanks, Shawn!

    • Hi Fawn,

      Thank you for your RT on Twitter and your comment here. I should clarify that I did not make this video; the citation and link to the original are below the video.

      I like both the message and the presentation of the video. KarmaTube did a superb job.

      Yes, we teachers often talk about the trouble of giving students algorithm techniques to solve problems versus getting them to work on problems which require thinking and learning. Of course, it is the skills of working, reasoning, thinking, problem solving and learning that our students need. I think students always look for shortcuts (we do too, don’t we?). But maybe students today are less patient than previous generations. I don’t believe that myself. In my experience, at each stage of life, every generation thinks it is the first to experience the problems and events they do. Socrates’ quote illustrates this, doesn’t it?

      I lived in Bermuda for a short while and I remember reading a letter or memo written by one of the early residents of Bermuda who complained about the loud, wild kids and twenty-somethings, a phenomenon truly unknown to us.

      Ha, ha ha. Good on the kids.

      I think you are right about the roots of dreams and hopes.

      You’re welcome,
      Shawn

Have an opinion? What do you think? I'd love to hear from you.

